RSS Feed

Killer shortbread cake

This weekend I decided to make some chocolate shortbread biscuits with my boyfriend, I thought they’d be nice and pretty for the blog and we were going to make the biscuits in heart shapes ♥ I chose my recipe on bbc Good food (www.bbcgoodfood.com/recipes/1272633/double-chocolate-shortbreads) and thought it sounded simple enough, there were only 2 steps. I made the dough, easy, wrapped it in cling-film and chilled it in the fridge for an hour, no problemo, but then… DISASTER!!!! When I got it out of the fridge it was so hard that I could have killed somebody with it! I left it for 15 minutes hoping it would become soft but it didn’t so I had to ask my mum for help… Yes, my mum fixes all my cooking disasters, or tries to. She got out the Magimix, which I think she’s had since before I was born, and put all the frozen dough inside, then she whirred it around a bit, added some water and we ended up with a very gooey mixture which I could definitely not roll out and cut into heart shapes. We got a pie dish and poured the mixture in, then put it in the oven for 30 minutes. The result tasted nice and chocolatey but it was the dryest cake I think I have ever tasted in my life, it was so dry that we had trouble swallowing it! That didn’t stop my sister and my boyfriend who managed to eat a quarter of it before giving in and admitting defeat!

What went wrong? Well, after some fierce interrogation my mum realised that I had put light brown sugar into the mixture instead of brown caster sugar… I had no idea that it would make such a difference!

So I’ve learned my lesson about sugar and I hope it’s a mistake I won’t be making again! Here is a picture of the dryest cake in the world, possibly fatal if too big a chunk is attempted to be devoured…

Meggy x

Leave a Reply

