RSS Feed

A traditional French Christmas market

My boyfriend goes to University in a big town a few hours away and we decided to go and spend a few days over there. We went ice skating, which I am still not very good at but I managed to let go of his hand for a bit! Then we went to the Christmas market which was so beautiful, there were fairy lights everywhere, Santa Claus was giving presents to kids, lots of chalets were set up and people were selling stuff in them, mostly food like candyfloss, soup, chocolate, hot wine, hot chocolate, etc. We tried something called “chicken milk” which, believe it or not, isn’t actually from chickens, it tastes a bit like coconut flavoured pancake mixture. But the best bit was the giant food everywhere and don’t worry! I thought about you dear readers and took lots and lots of photos!

This is the fountain which, as you can see, had been turned into a giant plate stand! How cute is that?

These are the fairies that were walking about on stilts! I couldn’t get the stilts in unfortunately because they were too tall!

The magic forest lit up with beautiful fairy lights!

The elves (that I actually found slightly creepy) making some traditional madeleines in their little house.

My favourite decoration! I wanted to climb into the tree and eat them all, even if they weren’t real.

My boyfriend with some giant candy canes, he has a fetish for candy canes and was delighted with these!

 A nice lady selling macarons in her chalet, she even put a beret on so you know I’m in France!

Some lovely looking homemade soap

 Candyfloss! Or “Barbe a Papa” (dad’s beard) as the French call it.

This was interesting, it’s a bit like a chocolate christmas tree kebab if you see what I mean. They melted the chocolate onto the wooden triangle and it came off in the shape of a christmas tree!

And finally a chalet selling some seasonal (for the French) food : tartiflette, fish soup, and seafood. The French all eat seafood on Christmas day, I’m glad the English don’t because I don’t like seafood!

So there were my photos! I hope you enjoyed them! I hope you all had a lovely Christmas!

Meggy x

One response »

  1. I love that macaron tree!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

